Blower Door Testing
Florida Energy Conservation Building Code R101.4 States:
“Effective July 1st 2017; New Construction on residential buildings or dwelling units shall have mandatory Blower Door Testing” Individuals licensed under FS 489.105(3)(f), (g) or(i);
Class A Air Conditioning Contractor
Class B Air Conditioning Contractor
We are offering this training for $500 per class. See schedule for details.
Broward County licensed General Building Contractor, Specialty Building Contractor or Engineer/Specialty Engineering Contractor, you are required to complete 4 hours of continuing education each renewal cycle by attending the following programs or courses:
1. Broward County Code of Ordinances, Chapter 9: Contractors (1 hour)
2. Workplace Safety (1 hour)
3. Worker’s Compensation (1 hour)
4. Business Practices (1 hour).
If your last name starts with A - K your license Expires even number year
If your last name starts with L - Z your license Expires odd number year
LEAD SAFE CERTIFIED: Renovators are certified upon completion of an EPA accredited renovator training courseTheir course completion certificate serves as their certification credential.
The initial training is 8 hours.To remain certified a renovator must complete a refresher training course before their current certification expires. The expiration date is based on when the course was taken (see table ABOVE).
Either the 4 hour refresher or 8 hour initial training course may be used for refresher training.If certification expires, the 8 hour course must be taken again to regain certification.
INITIAL COURSE AND LICENSE
ONLINE INITIAL PRE- LICENSE HOME INSPECTOR COURSE OFFERED
MIAMI -DADE CONTRACTORS: No renewals past July 2023 expect for some contractors. Call for details 305-868-5717
See current status
EPA LEAD SAFE RULE:EPA Lead is 5 years from initial application.(please refer to schedule)
Renovator Training Expiration Information
5 years from the date of course completion
Home Inspector Requirements!
The Home inspector profession has become regulated in Florida since July 1, 2010. We are offering the initial home inspector course approved by the DBPR to be able to take the state exam and become one of the few certified home inspectors in a class that last for 2 weeks from Monday through Friday from 9 to 5 and includes an actual home inspection. Materials needed are included for $950. We offer small class groups.
The requirements for initial licensure under the current law are: passing an
examination, completion of a 120-hour course of study that covers a home's
structure, electrical system, HVAC system, roof covering, plumbing system,
interior components, exterior components, and site conditions that affect
the structure, and proof of good moral character.
House Bill 713 also requires the following:
• The applicant may take the examination before
applying for a license
• The applicant must submit to a criminal
One 120 hour class certifies you for exam. Class cost is $950*.
Florida Professional Engineers have until December 2025 to complete at least one "Advanced " Florida Building Code course approved by the FBPE
ADVANCED BUILDING CODE COURSE
Professional Engineer, if you want to be involved in designing buildings or structures in Florida and want to be recognized as someone who knows the Florida Building Code well, you need to take a FBC Advanced course 2023 8th edition . This course will teach you about the rules and regulations related to building design in Florida. Once you complete the course, you'll get a certificate.
To make it official and have this recognition on your engineering license, you need to send a copy of your certificate to Wendy Anderson at firstname.lastname@example.org. This way, government agencies and building departments can check that you have the necessary knowledge about the building code..
ARCHITECTS: New 24 hrs required, 22 in health, safety and welfare and 2 in Advanced code. Renewal is February 28, 2025 but most complete the hours by December 2020.
Renewal for 14 hrs by July 31, 2024. (pending our renewal)
Renewal for 14 hrs and renewal by July 31, 2024.
ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS: Renewal for 14 hrs by on August 31, 2024
STATE CERTIFIED CONTRACTORS: Renewal for 14 hrs by on August 31 even numbered year (License starts with a C)
STATE REGISTRATION CONTRACTORS:Renewal for 14 hrs by on August 31 every odd numbered year (License starts with a R)
Boss Construction School, Inc.
Online Course links and course renewals
DEREGULATION OF LOCAL OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES
The state has recently passed a law regarding the deregulation of local occupational licenses. Local governments are now allowed to keep their existing licenses, but they will expire on July 31, 2023. We have heard some counties are extending licenses until July 1, 2024. Additionally, the Construction Industry Licensing Board will establish certified specialty contractor categories for voluntary licensure in various job scopes by July 1, 2024. This will allow contractors to showcase their expertise in specific areas of work, such as structural aluminum work, marine seawall work, rooftop solar heating installation, and more. While being certified in these categories is not mandatory, it can benefit contractors in the competitive job market. Some local governments may still offer licenses for certain job scopes, including:
Local Specialty Contractors affected include: 1) Steel Erection 2) Excavation 3) Insulation Contractor 4) Structural Concrete 5) Structural Carpentry 6) Masonry 7) Accessory Structures 8) Aluminum Fabricating 9) Fence 10) Tree Removal 11) Tile & 12) Plastering & Stucco
More about HB 735 google the actual bill. :